…I Shall Be Glad!..

Credits:Katie.B

(How it feels to show compassion???)

If I can put new hope within the heart
of one who has lost hope,
If I can help a brother up
some difficult long slope
that seems too steep for tired feet to go,
If I can help him climb
into the light upon the hill’s far crest,
I shall begrudge no time
or strength that I spend,
for well I know
how great may be his need.
If I can help through any
darkened hour, I shall be glad indeed.
For I recall how often I have been
distressed, distraught, dismayed,
and hands have reached to help,
and voices called
that kept me unafraid.
If I can share this help that
i have had, God knows I shall be glad!

Poet: Grace Noll Crowell

2 thoughts on “…I Shall Be Glad!..

Leave a Reply

